top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAsha

Are you getting sufficient protein for WEIGHT LOSS?

Most of my life, my diet was predominantly carbohydrates, with a little protein and vegetables. My plate will have 50% to 70% carbs like pasta, rice or bread and the rest will be protein, starch & vegetables. This worked just fine until, in my 50's, I needed to lose weight, build muscle mass and get healthier. I started doing research and realised how unbalanced my eating was. Whatever had worked till then was not going to work anymore so I had to make changes.

This picture is not the clearest but it is my waist measurements from 2021. It has gone up and down in this time (not reflected there) but the most significant reduction has been from 2022 to 2023.


I love change and my eating is now a lot simpler, more balanced, fun and I am getting what my body needs. I feel more energised, sleep better, lost more centimeters than weight and I am now toning to build more muscle. I feel more confident in my clothes and can wear what I love instead of trying to buy bigger and hide under my clothes.


I feel that the following changes have made the biggest difference in me making the shift happen. My gut health, increasing my protein intake and making sure I do some movement in the day. Let me explain a little of each of these.


My Gut Health

My daily habits for my gut health:

Increasing My Protein Intake

I had to get creative and step outside my "normal eating" to find ways to make sure I was getting a higher protein diet. I have tried but I am not a person who can measure food or count calories, it does not work for me. So now I stock my fridge with only the things I love and that are healthy for me. I find ways to be innovative with them and it has been working well so far as I am seeing the results. I love simple, easy to make and tasty food. I am still eating everything I love but I am just making sure I have a few different sources of protein on my plate so that I can eat with a happy mindset.


Most of us are aware of the non-vegetarian sources of protein like chicken, fish, red meat, eggs, etc. I don't like too much of meat so I had to find protein rich vegetarian sources.


These are my favourites:

  • Paneer - I make a batch with cumin, chillie flakes and fresh dhania and I keep it in the fridge and add it to my wraps, salads, pizza topping and in a buddha bowl.

  • Sprouts / Microgreens - I add it to literally everything. This is a superfood and amazing for overall health. Click here to check out our Sprout / Microgreens Starter Kit

  • Chunky Full Fat Cottage Cheese - mostly as a spread on sourdough bread topped with sprouts.

  • Hummus - I love Hummus and I use it as a spread in place of butter or sauce.

  • Legumes: Split Peas, Gram Dhal, Chickpeas, Mung Dhal. I soak overnight and make into a soup, curry or fry as a crispy snack.

  • Green Peas - I make a green pea soup or steam it and have it with most meals.

  • Mixed Seeds - I don't like eating seeds so I make a Date & Seed Snack that is amazing for an energy boost and its great for gut health. Its better than a sugary snack so I keep a box handy. Click here to check out our Date & Seed Snacks


Movement

I am not a gym fanatic but I believe in movement. I do what I love and its so simple.

Following are some of my activities that I mix and match in a day. If I feel under the weather or not in the mood I take a break. I listen to my body. I feel being gentle with yourself is more important than forcing yourself to do something that does not feel right.

  • I take a walk outside for about 20 to 30 minutes. If I cannot walk outside then I put on my favourite music and I walk on the spot in my house.

  • On YouTube I find a dance or walk-exercise video and do this for about 30 minutes

  • Yoga is a must for me and I also follow YouTube videos. Sometimes it Yin Yoga or Restorative Yoga when I'm feeling tired or had a long day. Other times its yoga for weight loss or a bit more intense.

  • About 3 times a week I do strength exercises with average weights like counter pushups, squats, lunges, biceps, triceps, shoulders, chest and back. I keep it comfortable and enjoyable.

If you have any ideas on this topic or suggestions that have worked for you please feel free to share.


Thank you & lots of love

Asha


bottom of page