top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAsha

Health & Weight Loss

Menopause gave me an increased midsection that I have been trying to lose for years. Nothing I tried seemed to get results. It was so depressing because I had to buy bigger, baggier clothes to hide my tummy. Also with the hormonal changes, I started to develop other health issues.

Menopause leads to an increase in midsection fat primarily due to hormonal changes and associated metabolic shifts. The significant drop in estrogen and progesterone production during menopause can cause fat to be redistributed from the hips and thighs to the abdomen. This is due to the body's altered fat storage patterns. Additionally, hormonal fluctuations can result in a slower metabolism, making it more challenging to burn calories efficiently. As muscle mass naturally declines with age, the loss of lean muscle, which is metabolically active, can further contribute to weight gain and an increase in midsection fat.

I am always looking for natural ways to achieve health so I started making changes slowly. The "Health Balls" I make, I believe, have been the biggest catalyst in losing and keeping off the weight but I believe that each one of the tips below played a role. I am fitting into my old skinny jeans and some shirts and tops I loved that I thought would never fit me again.


"Health Balls"

I call them health balls because that's exactly what they are. I made them initially for a friend who wanted to bring their sugar levels down and I also started taking them after I realized the health benefits of each ingredient. My bathroom scale broke a few weeks ago and I haven't replaced it so I am not sure how much weight I have lost. But a month into starting the "Health Balls" day and night I noticed my tummy losing size and that's when I realized my old clothes were fitting me again. The "Health Balls" is a combination of high-quality ingredients - organic turmeric, ginger, cayenne pepper, cinnamon, ashwagandha, and stevia. In the morning and evening, I swallow a ball with water. Sometimes at night I make warm milk and mix a ball in. The friend I made it for has it mixed with warm water. I have pre-packs of the powder for the "Health Balls" available for sale with instructions on how to mould the balls and the benefits. You can place orders here.



Sprouts

I started sprouting Moong Dhal and Lentils. I make a big batch and I make sure I have 2 to 3 bowls of these mixed sprouts a day. Sometimes I include it in my meals. These are superfoods, filling, high in protein, and keep you full so you don't snack on unhealthy things. Keep it in your lunch box for a healthy snack.

Studies published in medical literature highlight the numerous health benefits of consuming sprouts. These young plants are rich in essential nutrients, including vitamins (such as vitamin C and various B vitamins), minerals (like iron, calcium, and magnesium), and dietary fiber. They possess antioxidant properties that may reduce the risk of chronic diseases, including cancer and heart disease. Sprouts' high enzyme content aids digestion and nutrient absorption, while their low calorie and fat content makes them suitable for weight management. Furthermore, their fiber content can assist in blood sugar regulation, making them a valuable addition to diets for individuals with diabetes. Sprouts offer a sustainable and eco-friendly food option due to their minimal resource requirements, adding to their appeal as a nutritious dietary choice.

5000 steps

I make sure at a minimum I get 5000 steps per day. I aim for 10000 but if I can't I'm happy with 5000. I get the steps with various activities like walking, dancing, aerobic exercise, yoga, etc.

Regular walking has been associated with improved cardiovascular health, including lowered blood pressure and reduced risk of heart disease. It can also contribute to weight management and enhanced metabolic function, as well as increased bone density. Moreover, walking 5000 steps daily has been linked to better mood and mental well-being, reducing the risk of depression and promoting overall mental health. These findings underscore the simple yet effective impact of this modest daily activity on overall health and well-being.

Collagen

I have at least 10g of collagen in the day. 5g in the morning and 5g in the evening. If I feel I did not get enough protein in my food that day then I have 10g in the evening. Google an app to help you figure out the protein content of your meals.

Taking collagen supplements may offer several potential benefits. Collagen is a key protein in the body, and supplementing with it may improve skin health by reducing wrinkles and increasing skin hydration. Collagen has also been associated with joint health, potentially reducing joint pain and stiffness in conditions like osteoarthritis. Furthermore, collagen may support bone density and strength. While more research is needed to fully confirm these benefits, preliminary findings indicate that collagen supplementation could have a positive impact on skin, joint, and bone health.

The combination of these tips above has helped me lose weight and centimeters. I have been doing the Sprouts, Steps, and Collagen for about 3 months but when I added the "Health Balls" about a month ago I started to feel the biggest difference.

bottom of page